Malaysia

Malaysia started how India finished, seeing an old uni mate. This time it was Chris who was my next door neighbour during my first term at Essex. As we were unable to meet up in Thailand, he travelled down to George Town, Penang, to catch up for a few days. It was good to reminiscence and have a few drinks after 9 years! Aside from catching up, drinking, and the subsequent hangover I did the usual touristy stuff in George Town; wander round and see the street art, eat good food and go to Penang Hill to enjoy the (cloudy) view.

From George Town, I headed down to the Cameroon Highlands. It was nice to be somewhere green and fresh, with hills and trails that I could stretch my legs on. I definitely missed that being in India. Both full days I spent here I went out on some trails, up some hills, down some hills and through some tea plantations. Maps.Me also came into it’s own here, people have clearly marked the trails on the map. Was definitely useful as some of them aren’t clearly signposted or look like trails.

After a couple of days walking around, I continued further South onto Melaka. There aint too much to do here; there’s some good food, a few museums and some street art along the river. But with not much to do, it’s mostly a chill out spot I guess, and the street art ain’t as good as George Town. With not much happening, I took the opportunity to go see Marvels: Infinity War. Dw, no spoilers but go see it.

Also in Melaka, I started to feel travel tired again. I’m starting to feel lazy and tired, as well as missing home. This carried on when I was in Kuala Lumpur, but still went and did a few different things. As well as visiting the KLCC Park to get a view of the Petronas Towers, I also visited the Eco Park, visited the Islamic Art Museum and had a cheeky nandos. Feeling abit home sick and travel tired, it was nice to see and have nandos. You even get table service so you aint gotta get up and refill your drink. Decent! Finally in KL, I managed to catch up with another old friend. This time, Lily an old mate from doing Jitsu together at Surrey. Again, as always, it was really good to catch up and see where life has taken us. Being able to catch up with so many old friends on this trip has easily been the highlight.

Next stop Taiwan (via Singapore)

George Town Street Art
Cloudy Penang Hill
Cameroon Highlands

Tea Plantations
Meleka floating mosque
Petronas Towers
One of KLs mosques
Old faces, New places

Leave a comment